Learn From My Mistakes

When I first decided to create my own publishing company, I was filled with enthusiasm. It was like saying, “Hey kids, let’s put on a show…” or “A Book Festival can’t be that difficult to…” No, wait. I really should have thought this one through more.

I’m publishing my second digital book this week. According to everything we know, the second time you do anything, it should be easier. After all, you are experienced. That’s the way we think, but sometimes there are complications.

So, here are few things I learned on my adventure to publishing Whistle Down the Wind.

• Be prepared. I didn’t plan for all the work it would take to support my pseudonym. My evil twin is very demanding. She needs her own website, her own Facebook page, business cards, bio, author photo. You name it, this gal apparently needs it. I knew this book would be released under a different name, but I did a poor job of preparing the necessary marketing support.

• Understand that every timeline you create will probably need to be extended. When I submitted this book to my editor, I planned a December release. I pushed that release date forward several times, eventually settling on March 10th. I needed to be more realistic about the amount of time it takes for revisions.

• When you are trying to publish a book is not a good time to learn how to use new software. I want to have some print copies for reviewers. So I’ve tried to teach myself how to use CreateSpace. It’s challenging. I send the book to them, the “Inside Reviewer” tells me what’s wrong. I try to fix it, and that apparently creates a new problem. At least the automated reviewer has endless patience. I discovered I do not.

• A Blog Tour means you must write blogs. Of course – I knew that, but kept telling myself that I’d get to that. I had time. Now I have less than a week to write a LOT of blog entries. I have my topics; at least I did that in advance. But given the endless opportunities to do other things, (see the above), I didn’t take advantage of the time I had to research and write blog entries.

Despite all the trials and tribulations of giving birth to this work, I really do enjoy the process of presenting my book to the world. I like controlling my own career, making decisions about cover art, design, editing, etc. But the reality is that this path is not for everyone. It’s a very “hands-on” experience, and in the weeks that I’ve been preparing the book for release, I haven’t been creating any new work.

And of course as writers we know, after the book we just published there is the “next book” we will create.

Deborah

8 responses to “Learn From My Mistakes

  1. Wouldn’t it be lovely if we didn’t have to sleep? We’d have time to accomplish so much more. On the other hand, I think time is like a woman’s purse. It doesn’t matter how big the purse or how much time one has, one always seems to fill it. Good luck, Deb!

  2. Congrats Deborah ! I find ‘trial by fire’ usually sticks with me. You’ve obviously learned a lot in the process,
    eden

  3. Oh Raymond, I LOVE to sleep. It’s like a hobby for me. But I never seem to get enough.
    Yes Eden, trial by fire sticks. And it’s always annoying when I discover it’s one little bitty thing that’s been holding everything up. I keep reminding myself that I wanted to be in charge.

  4. Trial by “fire sticks” — doesn’t that sound like you run through a gauntlet and people try to hit you with burning sticks? Obviously, not enough sleep last night.

  5. Congrats on the new release, Deborah! I’m seriously thinking about going down this path but we’ll see LOL. I’m the most disorganized person on the planet…Best of luck for smooth sailing!

  6. I’m presently living your blog even as I write this reply. The only problems I am having are the days aren’t long enough and the nights are way to short. And I have discovered I don’t have the energy I used to have. Who knows what we can achieve until we try.
    Good Post
    Wally

  7. Good post!

    I’m working on my third release right now, and like my purse, I’m trying to cram too much work into too few hours. :-) At least this time I don’t have a hard release date rushing at me, like a conference or Christmas. I want to get it done because I have two more books to get out this year, but it will get done when it gets done.

  8. No, there aren’t enough hours in the day, but I’m looking forward to your next release no matter what name it’s under or whether she has business cards. :)

    And yes, all those things we have to do! I swear, it’s never-ending. I have a new book coming out and it doesn’t even have a page on my website yet. So who’s gonna do that??? Um, that would be me, not sure how that’ll happen but we do manage to get everything done eventually.

Leave a Reply

