Introducing Deborah Schneider

Deborah Schneider is Not Officially a Goddess

Although I like to pretend I’m a goddess and the members of my romance writer’s group refer to me as the “library goddess” — believe me I don’t favor Aphrodite or any of the Greek gang.

They call me that because I’m a huge advocate for readers and writers in my job as the Public Programming Coordinator for the King County Library System. I’ve created major events, such as “Read-Dating” a meet and greet with library staff and romance authors, “Romance Extravaganza”, for readers and fans, and started offering writing programs as part of NaNoWriMo in November.

It just makes sense to me to connect readers, writers and authors at the library. And I’m delighted to have been honored by Pacific Northwest Writers with an Open Book Award for supporting writers, named Romance Writers of America Librarian of the Year in 2009 and given the Stella Cameron Award for librarians and booksellers.

But, in addition to working for the busiest library system in the US, I’m also an author. I write Western romance, and my books include “Beneath a Silver Moon” and “Promise Me”, both set in a place I love, Montana.

Lately I’ve been experimenting with writing “steampunk romance” — a genre that allows me to set my stories in the Victorian era but to add elements of magic, supernatural beings, and incredible machines. I can use the blueprint of history, but then alter it to create a world rich with possibilities and yet still keep the focus on a relationship between a man and a woman.

My writing is my playground, my keyboard the place that takes me out of my regular daily life, and puts me into an imaginary universe filled with bigger than life characters having incredible adventures.

Maybe it’s escapism, but having the ability to share my stories with others is one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done. I look forward to opening the door and inviting you in to share some of the experiences of working with writers, meeting amazing authors and artists and exploring my inner world of putting black type on white paper.

Website: http:www.debschneider.com
Twitter: #Cowgirlibrary
Facebook: Deborah Schneider

5 responses to “Introducing Deborah Schneider

  1. Raymond Bolton

    Nice intro, Deb. Sounds like your responsibilities are nearly Herculean in dimension, so goddess works.

  2. Hi, Deborah – Great intro, and fabulous hat! Can’t wait to meet you in person. =)

  3. Some of my fondest childhood memories are built around the library. We lived about 20 minutes from the nearest town, and my mother would take us in for errands – one of which would be a trip to the library where we could check out as many books as we could hold. (most would be read even before we got home 😀 )

    I love your photo! *grins* That is one great hat.

    Katy

  4. Jar O' Marbles

    Ok. I really need your hat. Just saying’. That photo is awesome.

  5. I love hearing “library stories”, at nearly every author event we host there is a moment when the author recalls visiting the library. Cherry Adair has a story that brings people to tears! I love seeing little kids at the programs, knowing they are building those lovely moments to share when they get older. And we build readers!
    The hat is an actual antique beaver hat, and a few weeks ago I bought an antique leather hat box to carry it in. It’s going to LA next week for the Romantic Times Booklovers Convention.

    Thanks for stopping by everyone!

Leave a Reply

