Poetry Friday – haiku version

Welcome back to Poetry Friday – haiku version.

I love haiku, the simpleness of them, the way you’re drawn into the sensory details by these tiny perfect pieces of writing.

The most famous writer of haiku is Basho (1644-1694). Of course, the problem is that he wrote haiku in Japanese and they don’t always translate the way we (and maybe even he) would like them to – and there are amazingly different translations of the same poem by different translators – but I’ve picked two of my personal favorites to start us off:

***
a cuckoo cries
and through a thicket of bamboo
the late moon shines

***
Basho’s Death Poem

Sick on my journey,
only my dreams will wander
these desolate moors

I (Kate) have put one of my haiku in the comments, and we invite you to do the same.

Kate and Lisa

13 responses to “Poetry Friday – haiku version

  1. Katabira wa
    ware ga aki saru
    koromo kana,

    I take leave
    of autumn dressed in a
    summer shroud.

    Rairai, died on 17th day of the 9th month, 1780

    (from the book “Japanese Death Poems” compiled by Yoel Hoffmann)

  2. Raymond Bolton

    Two of my compositions:

    Your lip quivers, bends
    To mouth a word; smiles instead.
    Delightful dreamer!

    Musk and cinnabar:
    Your skin, so aromatic.
    I slumber smiling.

  3. Here are a couple of mine:

    Coastal steamers and
    red arbutus, log booms pulled
    by yellow tugboats.

    (for E.J. Hughes at the Vancouver Art Gallery)

    Goldfish and frogs fall
    from the sky, into the lake
    Then die, mouths wide open

    (Thanks to Paddy McCallum “Goldfish fall from my mouth, and start to swim”)

    Kate

  4. My turn. =)

    Deadheading roses
    petals scatter at our feet
    like sunlight, your kiss

    Autumn morning sky
    Streaming gold and silver veils
    Farewell cries of geese

    And this one, from my son’s poetry assignment for AP English (shared with permission)

    Haikus are easy
    But they don’t always make sense
    Refrigerator

    • “Haikus are easy
      But they don’t always make sense
      Refrigerator”

      But it’s a perfect 5-7-5!

    • Lisa – your haiku make me think of your garden, and the refrigerator? It’s perfect. Pass along my compliments… Again.

      Kate

      • That’s appropriate, as both were inspired by moments spent there. =)

        Compliments passed. He says thanks.

    • Raymond Bolton

      Lisa, I think your son is related to me. One of my non-haiku, non-poetry compositions:

      Knock, knock.
      Who’s there?
      Lemonade.
      Lemonade, who?
      Accentuate the positive, e-lemonade the negative.

Leave a Reply

