I’m still here

How many times have you stopped to think… or said, “Now there’s an idea that would make a great movie…”
Felt that exhilarating chill ripple up your back, standing the hair at the nape of your neck on end. That’s what I said and felt when I heard, via the cable news channel, that the Rapture was going to happen this past weekend. You know the end of the world. When the Chosen Few are raised up into heaven and the rest of us are doomed to go to Hell!

Now, most of you are saying that I’m a little crazy… thinking about writing a screenplay and making a movie; when the world is supposed to end in a few days. Who‘d watch it? Who’d make it? Who’d star in it? Where would it be shown? Who’d buy a ticket and go see it? It’s the Rapture, for Christ’s sake? The Chosen will have all been taken up!

Well, it’s obvious, then, it won’t be the Chosen, they’ll all be in Heaven… actually, they may be able to watch it—you know, on Demand (cable). Surely they will have cable in Heaven… and Wi-Fi… Surely… Any way, the Chosen will not be writing screenplays or making movies… that we can see down here… in the theater… or on Demand… Well, maybe on Demand… I digress. Where was I? Oh, yeah, a movie about the Rapture! Let’s see, genre, Hmmm.

At first I figured something Biblical, Like Ben Hur or Moses but Charlton Heston is dead and every one’s pissed off at Mel Gibson. Who would I get to star in it?. Then I thought a bout a drama, but that’s been done to death… Miricle Mile, Terminator, Mad Max besides Mel Gibson’s to old and everyone’s pissed of at him and Arnold, too.

Then it came to me… A COMEDY. Something on the order of It’s A Mad Mad Mad World. Something about these people, who gave away all their stuff, paid people to take care of their pets, didn’t pay their bills, said their goodbyes, and prepared themselves to be transported up to heaven… “Beam me up, Saint Peter!” And then… and then… and… And nothing happened. It just turned out to be another day in the neighborhood. Just a day like yesterday. Just like the day that will be tomorrow, and the day after, and so on…

After thinking it through, I lost interest. I thought about those poor people, the Chosen, who believed so hard… wanted so bad… to be part of the Chosen. And now they’re forced to face the true reality of life. Now they’re condemned to be the butt of cruel jokes, people laughing at them behind their backs. Perhaps, their beliefs forever shaken, maybe even destroyed. Suddenly, I’ve lost my urge to write a comedy, to write anything that might sting these poor deluded souls… that might heap more pain and embarrassment onto their already bruised and over-burdened psyche.

I’ll just close by saying, I’ve lived on this earth quite a few years now… it’s not perfect, but I am glad that it didn’t end Saturday, as predicted. Maybe we should look at this as a second chance for all of us to try and do better. Live our lives to the fullest. Add something to the pot. Leave something useful and enjoyable behind, even if it’s just a memory.

Wally Lane
Sunday 5-22-2011
The Day After The Rapture

4 responses to “I’m still here

  1. Raymond Bolton

    I think there was a movie about the Rapture. It was called Groundhog Day. : D

  2. “…it’s not perfect, but I am glad that it didn’t end Saturday, as predicted. Maybe we should look at this as a second chance for all of us to try and do better. Live our lives to the fullest. Add something to the pot. Leave something useful and enjoyable behind, even if it’s just a memory.”

    I second this idea wholeheartedly. 🙂

    (And don’t forget that David Duchovney/Mimi Rogers flick, The Rapture. Wait. Forget I said that…it was terrible.)

  3. I was looking forward to the “Post-rapture Looting” parties. Are you sure you don’t want to write this screenplay?
    Some people deserve to be made fun of…

Leave a Reply

