Beach + Book = Bliss

Hello from sunny Santa Cruz, California, where I’m sitting on the beach, kicking summer off in style and decompressing. I’ve finished the first drafts of two 90K novels since January, so I figure I’ve earned a break!

One of the carrots I’ve been dangling to get myself through the Great Writing Marathon is an indulgent and entertaining collection of summer reads. Here’s what’s on the pile so far, in no particular order, because that’s how I intend to read them – one by one, as the mood strikes. I’m sure the stack will grow, especially after I hit my favorite indie bookstore in town later this week.

Leaving Van Gogh, Carole Wallace
Hold Me Closer Necromancer, Lish McBride
Full Dark, No Stars, Stephen King
The Hunchback Assignments, Arthur Slade
The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson
World War Z, Max Brooks
Linger and Forever, Maggie Stiefvater
The Elegance of The Hedgehog
, Muriel Barbery
Patient Zero, Jonathan Maberry
Uninvited, Justine Musk
William Carlos Williams, Selected Poems
The Enemy, Charlie Higson
Jealousy, Lili St. Crow
Swan, Mary Oliver

There’s a fair amount of YA here, because I like to read it and because it’s my current writing genre, and of course there must be poetry to go with my morning coffee!

Also, you may notice that zombies have taken a bite out of my list. My fourteen-year-old and I have invited his friends to partake of a Summer Zombie Apocalypse reading club, which will culminate in a pizza/Left for Dead2 & Resident Evil 5 marathon/Shaun of the Dead viewing/vote for your favorite zombie novel party in August. No literary discussions, just trying to keep them all reading. Besides, zombie books rock. 

So, what’s on your summer reading pile?

Lisa DiDio

6 responses to “Beach + Book = Bliss

  1. Coolio, Lisa.

    While I don’t plan as far ahead as you, so far my list includes:

    The War of Art – Steven Pressfield
    2030 – Albert Brroks
    Dracula – Bram Stoker (believe it or not, I’ve never read it)
    Vlad, the Last Confession – C. C. Humphreys (I’m attending his workshop at PNWA)
    Live Wire – Harlan Coben
    West of Here – Jonathan Evison

    • That’s Albert Brooks. Sophia, my cat, stepped on the Return key before I had a chance to reread what I’d typed. At least I didn’t post ]]]]]]]]]]\’k.”””li 😀

      • My cat Oberon is a wanna be typist, too!

        I’m going to have to check out that Humphreys’ book- and maybe the workshop. 🙂

  2. Hi Lisa,

    If you like YA, there are two authors I would highly recommend. I’ll be giving my god-daughter their books, and she’s turning 16 this summer.

    Patti Larsen who’s written a series called The Diamond City Trilogy – out this summer.
    Gae Polisner whose The Pull of Gravity has major buzz right now and was interviewed by the NY Times.

    eden

    • Eden, thanks for the recommendation! I’m going to pick up The Pull of Gravity at the bookstore downtown. It looks amazing.

  3. Jar O' Marbles

    Hmm… my summer reading list…well, I have the random books that I pick up at the library. (This week two by Sarah Addison Allen.

    But on my actual TBR pile..
    Myths to Live By and Pathways to Bliss by Joseph Campbell
    and I want to re-read the HP series before I see the last movie(I’m almost done with this one)

Leave a Reply

