Introducing Eden Baylee

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things …”

I was so honored when Kate invited me to join Black Ink, White Paper. For those who are not familiar with my relationship to Kate, I’ll elaborate. She was my mentor, a woman who guided me through the noise of what it meant to be a writer when I first contemplated it seriously. She encouraged me up to the day I quit my job of 20 years and started writing full-time. She’s read my manuscript for my first book and provided much needed support along the way. In a nutshell – I adore her and wouldn’t be the writer I am today without the guidance she provided.

Suffice it to say I feel humbled to be part of a group of seasoned authors, and look forward to learning more about each of you.

You’ll probably recognize the verse I started this blog with as Rodgers’ and Hammerstein’s song “My Favorite Things.” For my first post here, I thought it’d be a good icebreaker to introduce myself by way of some things I love. I’ve always found author bios difficult to write, so this is my way around it.

Here are just a few of my favorite things…

~ Sweltering sunny days: When everyone else is complaining about the heat or the humidity, I’m basking in the rays. No, I’m not lying outside getting a suntan necessarily, but I am enjoying the heat. It’s something that energizes me and motivates me to write. The hot weather months seem shorter and shorter each year in Canada, so I relish each moment I sweat in my non-air-conditioned house. You guessed it, summer is my favorite season.

~ Music: I love most kinds and blog about it every Monday. I feel very fortunate to have lived through the evolution of music technology—from reel to reel to vinyl to 8-track to the current digital age. My favorite musician is Van Morrison and has been for over 20 years. I’ve purchased his CD Into the Music in bulk and given it away to friends, and my favorite track from that album is “And the Healing has Begun.” To this day, I play it at least three times daily.

~ Red Shoes: I was never much of a “girlie” girl. I don’t like carrying purses if I can help it, and I never match my purse to my shoes to the jewelry I don’t wear. Despite these facts, I own 3 pairs of red shoes, and a pair of red boots. For whatever reason, I love red shoes, and this is my favorite pair. It adds two inches to my height, bringing me up to a towering 5’4”!

~ Laughter: I love the sound of it, others and mine. My mother always said my laughter was unladylike as I was growing up, so I probably unconsciously stifled it. Today, I no longer listen to everything my mother says, of course, and I don’t hold back anymore. I find great pleasure in dry English wit, the farce of Monty Python, and the comedy of Saturday Night Live. I enjoy the understated humor of filmmaker, Guy Ritchie, and my favorite film of his is Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.
My favorite TV commercial is for a beer ad – Dos Equis, and features “the most interesting man in the world.” He’s an Ernest Hemingway knockoff, and there’s a whole series of ads about him—this one’s my favorite.

~ Peach ice cream: This is my favorite ice cream, but the sad thing is I can’t find it. I see peach sorbet, peach yogurt, and even peach ice tea for god’s sake! But no peach ice cream. I had a scoop of it about 3 years ago and have not found it since. Recently, a friend on Twitter told me that Breyers makes it, so I’ve been on the look out but with no success. I’m convinced this is the summer I find it again, so if anyone sees it, can you please let me know? It might be worth a trip!

These are just a few of my favorite things, and I hope they give you some insight into the mind of your newest, whacky member.

Thrilled to be part of the group!

eden

34 responses to “Introducing Eden Baylee

  1. Can’t find Breyer’s peach? Better buy a ticket on Southwest to New Mexico, girl. My wife and I polished off a half gallon just last week and there’s bunches more in the local super! (There’s always a spare bedroom in our house for any fellow blogger.)

    As for Van Morrison, are you sure you’re not stalking me? I have his album, Moondance, in my iTunes and listen to him regularly. He’s a favorite of mine, as well. Doesn’t sound like anyone else—a real original and that’s my mark of an artist.

    When it comes to seasoned authors, Eden, let me say this: if you’ve been writing full-time for twenty years, you are what I aspire to be. Although I, like you, am here by Kate’s invitation, I have yet to get my foot through the publishing-world door. She’s read some of my work and I am flattered she has thought to include me, but it is you and the other successful authors like you who honor us by your presence.

    Let me be the first to publicly welcome you to these pages.

    • Raymond! What? You have peach ice cream there? I’m booking my ticket as we speak! Ha! I’m definitely not stalking you, but great minds do think alike! Van Morrison wrote “Brown Eyed Girl” for me…not sure if you knew that… 😉

      I’ve been writing full time only since Jan 2010, but I’ve written since age 15, so I’ve hopefully honed some skills.

      Thrilled to meet you here too.

      eden

  2. Eden, the shoes rock!!! I love them. I have a great recipe for homemade peach ice cream, if you have an ice cream maker. If not, maybe you should get one! 🙂

    Welcome aboard. I’m jazzed to have you along for the ride.

    • Lisa!

      Thanks about the shoes, yeah, they rock, they roll, they make me feel like a giant! If I can’t get the peach ice-cream by end of summer, I’ll have to take you up on the recipe. Thanks so much!

      Thrilled to be here!

      eden

  3. Pingback: Black Ink, White Paper |

  4. Yay for shoes! (red or any other color 😀 )

    Thank the gods you stopped stifling your laughter, that causes serious problems. *grins* I love to laugh, always have. I laugh at anything and everything, sometimes until it hurts.

    That is my favorite Dos Equis commercial. *giggles*

    Welcome to the group, Eden! It’s nice to have you on board.

    K

  5. Eden, you praise me too much. I LOVED your first book and the one thing you forgot to say was that we found each other through our lovely mutual friend Nancy, drummer, cool cat all around.

    I’m totally with you on Van Morrison and the Dos Equis commercials. He cracks me up – and he’s VERY sexy to boot. As for red shoes, I’m a shoe fanatic, so of course I have red shoes, and yellow ones, and green ones (actually three shades of green), and turquoise and pink and, well, you get the picture. As for boots? This is Vancouver, I have a dozen pairs (actually, now that I think about it, maybe more). My partner tries to stop me from going into the shoe department – it never works. Perhaps Lisa will have more success at PNWA as the hotel is attached to a very high end mall.

    I’m so glad you’re with us. And welcome.

    Kate

    • Kate! Yes, yes, Nancy, that crazy gal who introduced us is cooler than peach ice cream !

      Oh yeah, that man is sexy from Dos Equis -my type to the tee!

      So happy to feel the love here, thank again for inviting me!

      eden

  6. Eden, I love learning more about you every time I read one of your interviews! I’m with you on the heat, girl… wishing we had some here on the East Coast–and music is nectar. But you can keep your peaches–if it doesn’t have chocolate in it, it’s not worth eating! 🙂

    • Oooh, now I know something about you Patti -chocolate lover! Must remember that when we meet.

      It’s up to 30 degrees celsius every day this week, and I’m loving it – hope you get some heat soon!

      Really happy you stopped by here 😉

      eden

  7. Eden, now I know why we click. I adore red shoes and Van Morrison (Into the Mystic makes me go weak at the knees). I hate carrying purses (handbags) and am 5’2″. Peach ice-cream? Fight you for it! Yum!

    It was lovely to learn more about you here in your new writing place. x

    • Glynis, adore you! *BIG WAVES* to you all the way in Cyprus! Oh yes, “Into the Mystic” is absolutely fab too!

      We should both wear some red shoes and paint the town one of these days! Thanks for visiting me here!

      eden
      xoxox

  8. Every girl needs at least one pair of red shoes. One of my favourite Van Morrison songs is an old, old song called “Sometimes I feel like a motherless child.”

    Eden, thank you for your friendly help and advice. It is a pleasure to know you.

    • Hi intensesensations,

      You are so sweet to leave a comment for me here, thank you! I love that song too, and that entire album, Poetic Champions Compose is fabulous.

      The other track from it that I really love is “Queen of the Slipstream.”

      It’s a pleasure to know you too.

      eden

  9. Hahaha – “He can speak French… in Russian.”

    Thanks for the education, Eden, both to those great adverts and to the rest of the collective you’ve introduced me to! 🙂

    • Les! My handsome Englishman! How thrilling to see you here, and that is a great ad, isn’t it?

      Thank you for being so supportive. You and your writing rocks!

      eden

  10. Eden, love the shoes….It is amazing to have friends who will be there for you and support you on new journeys….

  11. Peach Ice Cream, Van Morisson, Sun Shine, Red Shoes and a gal that’s 5’2″… All that’s missing is a good single malt scotch… Then we’d have the start of a damned good party!

    Welcome aboard.

    Wally

    • Now you’re talking! I don’t always drink scotch, but when I do, I prefer Balvenie 10 year old or the 12 year Doublewood.

      I always thought it would’ve been a treat to share a bottle with Bukowski, if he were still alive of course!

      Thanks for the warm welcome Wally!

      eden

  12. I love red shoes too, and have 3 pair, (just bought a pair of red wedges for summer) and red cowgirl books with fringe. You would tower over me (just touch 5 ft with a stretch). Welcome to the gang!

  13. Oh yeah, I can attest to Kate’s obsession with shoes! She bought some in NYC and then made me carry them back to Seattle in my luggage… I think because she’d bought too many shoes.

    • Hehe, hi Deborah! Wow, it seems like most women love shoes! No stereotypes here!

      Thrilled to be on board, and there’s definitely something sexy about red. We should all go to NYC on a shoe-shopping expedition!

      eden

  14. Hi Eden! I’m late, as usual. 🙂 I love red shoes and pine for them every time I see a pair. A friend of mine has a pair of shiny red Dansko clogs that I attempt to steal from her each time she wears them around me. I love your intro. It’s going to be fun getting to know you more on BIWP and Twitter. I’m studying how you work Twitter, because you’re so dang good at it. I consider myself a “Twitt-iot” and am just not good at short conversations. Facebook is much more comfy for me, but I know I have to expand to succeed (and unfortunately that doesn’t mean eating peach ice cream with you). Thanks for the fun post!

    • Hi Ann! Wow, thanks for your compliment about my usage of Twitter – not sure if I’d say I’m dang good at it, but it’s a great forum to get the word out for things, and on occasion, to have a brief chat.

      Hehe, we should all eat peach ice cream, wear red shoes and listen to Van. Wally can bring the scotch!

      eden

  15. That is a great list Eden! I am also very fond of hot, hot days. I love the warmth. And red shoes are totally a must-have.

  16. Welcome to the site and a pleasure to meet you here. I am new as well having been offered a chance to guest blog occasionally and I love meeting all the folks here. True, I don’t wear red shoes and I prefer mint oreo cookie icecream but I do have an important question for you…Julie Andrews or Mary Martin? I love Broadway musicals and The Sound of Music is one of my favorites. Nice to meet you Eden and I look forward to reading more from you soon.

    • Hi Chris, lovely to meet you here at BIWP,

      In all honesty, I’m not a huge fan of musicals, but I did love The Sound of Music. I much prefer concerts. The last stage play I saw was Jersey Boys which wasn’t bad.

      Look forward to reading your guest blog!

      eden

  17. Pingback: Blogging at Black Ink, White Paper |

  18. It’s not wonder to me that you love peach ice cream. It suits you and your persona well. The red shoes are really interesting. I wonder what Freud would say about that? Actually, I don’t. I know what he’d say. Off screen: The sound of riotous laughter. Back to your post. As for Morrison, well, you know that I am a devotee of the other Morrison, as in James Douglas. Hot weather? Detest anything above 80 degrees. That about wraps it up. All said without one exclamation mark. She smirks.

  19. Pingback: Black Ink, White Paper |

Leave a Reply

