down time

For the last few weeks, I’ve felt like I’ve been pulled in seventeen different directions. At work I was assigned to a new boss, had to finish scheduling over 125 authors for the Northwest Bookfest in October, had two fall series to arrange and attended committee meetings for the various special projects I’m working on.

At home, I’m still working on remodeling my office, had to get ready for a visit from my Mom, need to always find time to make dinner for my family and spend time with the grand- baby.

I’ve also been working on getting my first book into digital format and focusing on helping my graphic designer with options for the cover art. This involved finding a model, purchasing the rights for the images and giving her ideas of what I like and want.

My days have felt like a super- decathlon, where I’m expected to change activity — run, bike, swim, kayak, dance, play basketball and then do a little rock climbing.

So I’ve been counting down the days until my “stay-cation” so I can finally get some serious down time. I’m thrilled that the weather in the Northwest has suddenly turned to summertime, and I’ll have two weeks of free time. I didn’t make a lot of plans, because I want to enjoy visiting with my Mom. And I plan to put in some significant hammock time to catch up reading.

My point is that we can get so busy with all the demands on our time that we forget the best gift we can give ourselves is leisure. Time to relax, recharge and daydream. In the end, that’s what fuels us for telling stories.

Deb

14 responses to “down time

  1. You too, huh Deb? 😀

    I’m blessed that we just moved into a house with a gorgeous backyard, so even in the midst of all this chaotic unpacking I’m still encouraged to just go outside and sit for a few minutes.

    K

  2. The down time is certainly making you look younger, Deb. You look good in pink. If the cowboy is a new boyfriend, you’re definitely doing things right. *serious wide grin*

  3. Interesting how, perhaps because it’s August and many of us are ramping up to the fall (going back to school/work time), we’re thinking about the same thing – balance, down time, making sure we don’t shortchange our friends and families for the benefit of the work.

    Down time is crucial for me – if I don’t have my allotted hours of reading time per week, I start to go stir crazy. If I don’t get at least a couple of big big walks, I go stir crazy. Stealing those hours means I can do everything else better.

    Kate

  4. I agree with Kate. When the world gets crazy, and stuff is coming from all directions–things to do,things to be done later, things you didn’t get done, that you still have to do. Find a place in your day–I like evening (early or late)–stop what your doing. Take a deep breath. Grab you best friend and take a walk–around the block or maybe six. I live close to Edmonds and Belva and I like to walk along the beach. All the troubles of the day seem to fade away–and while I’m there I’m free of what’s bothering me–I’ve escaped from the Mad, Mad, Mad world.

  5. HA! Raymond, that’s a good one. Boyfriend? Hmmmm…. that would make great gossip, feel free to spread it around.

    Kate- I think the time of year does have a lot to do with it, because as I’m looking toward all the things that will happen this fall — and have to be planned now — it can be overwhelming. Everything in its own time, though. I always make time to read.

    K.B. – congrats on the new house, and I’m lucky that my view is of our gardens and Mt. Si. Living in the Snoqualmie Valley always gives me a great view and wonderful places to walk and bike.

    Yes Wally, getting out into nature does help us refill the creative bucket and escape. I wish there was a beach nearby, as I love walking near the water.

    The vacation has been relaxing and I’m doing only what I want, when I want to do it.

  6. Sorry Raymond, I actually was at the hotel on Saturday. My mother is here visiting from the East coast, and I only get to see her a few weeks per year. It’s one of those “family versus writing” challenges we all face.

  7. Daydreaming is an author’s work, isn’t it? I once read somewhere that Stephen King used to stare out the window and he said that he was working. I love that!

    eden

Leave a Reply

