Apocalyptic daydreamin’

This week, I escaped into a world where Mad Max meets Waterworld. Gayle Ann William’s book, Tsunami Blue, stuck with me long after the waves died down and I returned to my normal, non-water-filled life. It got me thinking about other apocalyptic books and movies that I have read or seen. Stories that I can’t quite shake after I reach The End.

The Stand by Stephen King—I read this book the first time when I was in junior high school. I gobbled it up. “M-O-O-N, that spells Tom.” That will forever stay with me, as will the characters King made so real, so alive. The heartbreak as some didn’t make it through to the end. To this day, I still will look at a gorgeous, multi-million dollar home that overlooks a gorgeous view and think that if the sickness came and took most everyone but me, I’d move into that house for a bit to see what it was like to live there and look at that view day-in and day-out.

Waterworld with Kevin Costner—I know that a lot of people don’t dig this movie, but I love it. Dennis Hopper has to be one of my favorite villains of all time. His sense of humor while performing his villainy had me laughing time and again, and I was actually a little sad to see him go. If any of you have seen the extended version, it ends with the camera focusing in on the mountaintop where Geanne Tripplehorn is standing, watching Costner leave. It focuses in on a plaque that shows it’s Mount Everest. After I saw that bit, I was lost in “what if” world for a while, daydreaming about life in a world filled with so much water. Being that I wear contacts and am not a big fan of the water, I worry that I wouldn’t fare so well.

Zombieland with Woody Harrelson and Jesse Eisenberg—I know, I had to go to the zombie genre, right? I can’t help it. My two biggest fears are zombies and cows. Both inspired by childhood experiences that I won’t bore you with now. Being that I have such an irrational fear of zombies, you can imagine that I have spent a good deal of time day-worrying (rather than daydreaming) about what life would be like if zombies took over. I even know the exact escape route I would use in my house to get away, if needed. What I love about Zombieland is the humor that the screenwriters used when approaching such a horrific topic. Humor I can relate to. Humor makes even people half-dead trying to eat my brains palatable.

So, what are some apocalyptic books and movies that have stayed with you long after you walked away from them?

Here are some others you might have seen or read that have inspired many ponder-filled blank stares from me over the years:

Planet of the Apes
28 Days later
Escape from New York
Legion

Happy apocalyptic daydreaming,

Ann

7 responses to “Apocalyptic daydreamin’

  1. ❤ Zombieland so much. "Cardio, cardio, cardio."

    Cows, really Ann? 😀

    I Am Legend scared the ever-loving crap out of me. As did The Stand.
    The Andromeda Strain (the original not the crappy remake) isn't quite doomsday, but it's close and I love it.

    K

    • Yeah, I really don’t like cows. It’s a childhood thing about being trampled. 🙂

      I am Legend–that was a good one.Two words–the dog.
      I haven’t seen the Andromeda Strain. Have to look for it.

      Thanks! Ann

  2. Ok, I’m going to REALLY date myself, but I loved The Omega Man with Charlton Heston, which was the original movie, (I believe) based on the book I Am Legend. I never saw the Will Smith version.

    I remember as a kid, this one scared the hell out of me.
    eden

    • Eden, my husband mentioned The Omega Man when he read through my post. I should look this one up on Netflix. Man, I love Netflix! 🙂

      Thanks for the movie idea! (and for all of the kind Tweets on Twitter)

      Ann

  3. Omega Man and I am Legend. Those damned nightmares and daymares are why I don’t often watch Zombies and horror. I loved Waterworld and Dennis Hopper was a great actor and superb villain!

    Wally

  4. Omega Man and I am Legend. Those damned nightmares and ‘daymares’ are why I don’t often watch Zombies and horror. I loved Waterworld and Dennis Hopper was a great actor and superb villain!

    Wally

    • Wally, don’t you just love the eyeball bit with Dennis? He is so funny in that one. I loved all of the scene elements that showed what life on a water-filled planet might be like. Thanks for the comment!

      Ann

Leave a Reply

