Comfort foods

These last two weeks have been such a roller-coaster ride for me. Between going out on submission last week and already having multiple agents request my manuscript and having multiple dentist appointments to catch up on the eighteen years worth I skipped out on I’m completely wrung dry.

So, in honor of my extra-stressed out condition, I’m going to offer up a recipe for one of my favorite comfort foods – Country-Style Spareribs. I’ve modified the recipe that was handed down by my grandmother’s second husband.

10 – 12 pork ribs
2 lb jar of sauce (I use only homemade nowadays, but any jar sauce will do as well)
2 tblspn grape jelly (it mixes better if you warm it in the microwave for a few seconds)
1 tblspn dried mustard (regular yellow mustard will work in a pinch)
1 onion chopped
3 cloves minced garlic (more or less to taste)
3 stalks of celery chopped

You can also add in sliced mushrooms, diced peppers, and/or whatever other vegetables sound appealing.

Layer the ribs in the bottom of a baking dish. Mix the remaining ingredients together and pour over the top of the ribs. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 2 hours if you use bone-in ribs and 1½ hours if they are boneless.

I serve these with spaghetti, homemade garlic bread, and salad.

I only ever make these in the fall and winter because I hate having the oven going for that long during the warmer months. But they are definitely worth the cooking time; the ribs are so tender you honestly don’t need a knife, they just fall apart under your fork.

Ana Ramsey

9 responses to “Comfort foods

  1. If we get many more of these recipes, we’re all going to end up fat… fat, but happy. 😀

    Multiple agents? You in da cat bird seat, girl!

  2. Yum! You’re using country style ribs here, I presume?

  3. I haven’t had breakfast yet, but now I want ribs.
    eden

  4. I Think I Love You! Country Style ribs rule!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

