Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow

My kids are waiting for the snow to fall. It’s almost Christmas and all of the movies and television shows they have been watching have snow in them. At ages four and six, they think that without snow, Santa won’t be coming. This year, they will learn a valuable lesson—what they see on television and the big screen isn’t always reality (at least that’s what the weather forecast is showing for Seattle—a green Christmas).

The same holds true for the on-screen portrayal versus the reality of being a writer. Think about some of the movies and television shows about writers. Here are some that come to my mind:

· Castle (tv)
· Studio 60 (tv)
· Misery (movie)
· Funny Farm (movie)
· Secret Window (movie)
· Her Alibi (movie)
· Romancing the Stone (movie)

In each of these shows, we don’t see the writers sitting at the booksigning table, feeling horribly awkward while people avoid making eye contact as they pass the table. We don’t see the writers chewing on their knuckles as they wait to see how a newly released book is accepted by the reading world. Nor do we see them dealing with rejection and negative reviews. We don’t see them trying to decipher the complex math in royalty statements or going back and forth with their editor about cutting or adding a scene. We don’t see the reality of being a writer.

What we also don’t see is how amazing and determined writers often are, slogging through hell and back to make sure a book reaches the reading public. How supportive the writing community is when the critics hate the story and the rotten tomatoes are flying. How other writers are there to console when the sky seems to be falling. How sometimes just a single fan email or letter can inspire leaps of joy and make the world seem like a great place in which to live once again.

I was recently asked what I thought were the best and worst parts of being a writer. I answered: “Let’s start with the bad stuff. The worst part is the constant struggle to find time to write, not to mention do all of the promotion and marketing needed to find new readers. It’s not a marathon—it’s more like a triathlon. Some days, I just want to hide under the covers. As for the best part, it’s the peers, the friends, and the fans. I love meeting new people (even if it’s just online) and building new relationships.”

What is the best and worst part of being a writer in your opinion?

Until next time, let it snow and happy holidays!

Ann

13 responses to “Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow

  1. Heh, I love Castle. (and have promised myself that I’m getting a vest with WRITER on it as soon as I can 😀 )

    The best thing about being a writer is the writing. The worst is probably the waiting.

    K

    • K.B.–Ugh, the waiting is sooooo stressful sometimes. Castle is fun! I’d love to have his writing world…well, the female version of it.

      • I want one of those bullet proof vests, too! And I’d LOVE to have his bank account! However, with all the time he spends doing police work, it’s hard to believe he’s making his deadlines. (Willing suspension of disbelief for sure.)

        The Best: The writing and the friends I’ve made along the path.
        The Worst: Rejection and marketing and waiting, oh my. (or maybe OMG?)

        Happy holidays to you and your family!

      • Lisa–oh yeah, the rejection. Bah humbug! I want to be Castle and play cards with some of my favorite authors on a regular basis. 🙂

        Have a great holiday season,
        Ann

  2. No, Ann! Tell me it’s not true. :O I mean that the movies about writers and signing tables are as truthful as the ones about Santa and snow. Or, for that matter, the scene where the writer types the words The End, tears the paper from the typewriter and says, “There. Finished.” 😉

    Enjoy your Christmases with the kids. They’re fleeting at best.

    • Thanks, Raymond. The ideas they have about the whole holiday are quite entertaining.

      I’m so glad I don’t have to use a typewriter for editing. I’d kill forests of trees with every book.

      Happy holidays!
      Ann

  3. The best – writing and being creative as a means to connect
    The worst – marketing and being creative as a means to connect

    eden

  4. The best parts: Developing characters, weaving a good story, The “throwing s**t against the wall” sessions with my writing partner, the feeling I get when I finish a story.

    The bad: The waiting for someone to answer a query. Rejection!

    You and the kids have a great Christmas! 🙂

    Wally

  5. The Best: I love that first initial rush when the story is new and the ideas are flowing faster than I can type.

    The Worst: Those times when the writing just is not flowing. When it takes me an entire day to write a single page.

Leave a Reply

