New Way of Thinking

I hope everyone had a great Christmas/Hanukah/Holiday and that the New Year brings great joy and love and wonderfulness to you.

I do not believe in making resolutions. I really don’t know anyone, myself included who makes it past Feb 1 still on the resolution track. I’m sure there are some, but not many.

But today, something clicked in me. Maybe it was watching the sunrise as I drove around trying to get too many errands run in too short a time. Maybe it was just that for the first time in a long time, I felt calm, at peace. And when I thought about it I realized why.

So I’m not calling this a resolution, I’m calling it a new way of thinking. Just like the weight loss I’ve been struggling with (doctor’s orders) for the last year, it’s not a Diet, it’s a new way of looking at food.

2011 was a tough year on me mentally and physically, but I made it through. The physical struggles are not ended, but I will survive whatever comes, whenever it comes.

In 2012, I resolve *ahem* to not let everything get bottled up inside me until I implode. I promise to deal with everyone and everything head on, trying not to be as abrasive as I know I often am, but to not let anyone push me around and make me feel badly about myself, my career, my way of life. I will learn that saying “no” is not a weakness, it’s a strength, even where my family and closest friends are concerned. I will not allow others to dictate the way I think or feel. I will not do anything I seriously don’t want to do, and I won’t feel bad that I’m not doing it.

When I need to take a break, I will take it, from whatever is pushing me the wrong way. And I will definitely enjoy more sunrises, even if, as it did today, turn into a torrential downpour a few hours later. I will write more, laugh more, and try to come up with another five year plan, because I’ve completed the last one (in six years). *grin*

Here’s to a wonderful 2012 for everyone!

Anna Leigh

 

 

 

5 responses to “New Way of Thinking

  1. Anna Leigh, here’s to you being able to keep that frame of mind because it is a wonderful, healthy way to live life.

  2. Anna Leigh, best to you for 2012, and I think you’ve made a healthy and wise choice just by what you’ve written here.
    eden

  3. Anna, I love the idea of making a plan instead of resolutions. A plan can be flexible, changed, renewed and revised. Good luck in 2012!

  4. If you are like me, good riddance to 2011 bring on 2012, it’s got to be better! Oh, and if it works… go for it! Woorks is good. Hope the coming year brings good things!

    Wally

Leave a Reply

