The Magic is in the Believing

I’m not a person who makes resolutions, but I do like to set goals. Every year in January, June and September I review the list of goals from the previous few months, cross out the ones I know I’m not interested in anymore and write a few new ones.

I developed this system after reading a book by a local author: “Write It Down, Make It Happen, Knowing What You Want– and Getting It! by Henriette Anne Klauser.

The second chapter is titled “Knowing What You Want: Setting Goals” and the author’s point is that we often don’t articulate to ourselves what we really and truly want. We might say one thing, then change our minds to “want” another thing. We lose focus and approach our goals scattershot.

Instead, we can use tools, such as journal writing, to identify the goals closest to our hearts and put the end result into our goal statement. But, we have to overcome our fear of failure and our fear of success to get there.

What, you might be saying. I understand fear of failure, but fear of success? That’s the slimy monster lurking behind the door. Many of us dream big, wish hard and then jeopardize our goals by listing all the reasons we can’t possibly succeed. Are we being too greedy? Or are we just not worthy of success?

Imagine if we slapped that fear monster back down into his cave and declared, “I am worthy, I will get what I want and you can’t stop me!” Instead of making excuses, we’d make progress. We wouldn’t give the naysayers an ounce of our attention because we’d be too busy succeeding.

That’s one of my goals this year, and I’ve started out well. I was brave enough to create my own publishing company, smart enough to find  the best resources I could, because when I don’t know something I find those who do know it. I had to overcome a mythology of what publishing success looks like to fashion my own version.

So far, I’m very happy with the result. I’m making money with my writing, receiving great reviews and my book is on an Amazon list with some of the biggest names in publishing.

I plan to make magic, pull some rabbits out of hats and focus on publishing success in the next few months. There’s no sign of the fear monster anymore, may he rest in peace!

Deborah Schneider

10 responses to “The Magic is in the Believing

  1. Brava, Deb!

    I belong to an email loop that does much the same thing. We talk about personal goals on a monthly (sometimes weekly) basis and help keep each other encouraged and on track throughout the year. It’s been a real blessing.

  2. My wife and I have a collage depicting what we are moving towards, so the images stay fresh in our minds. I have a computer reminder program that alerts me to key events I need to act on as they come up, so I stay on track. I plug them is as I begin any new project, so I cannot forget them.

    What Katy and you seem to understand is the adage, “If you want your life to change, you have to change.” If you continue to do and think the way you always have, your life will be as it’s always been. Progress demands you leave your comfort zone and use as many tools as you can find—images, reminders, like-minded friends—to keep you on track. It can be risky, but you have to weigh the benefits against the cost of doing nothing, then plan your work and work your plan.

    Important concept. Thanks for posting.

  3. You must set a goal, you must have a plan, you must believe you can, you must be willing to sacrifice what is needed to succeed. If you don’t you will fail. It will be like starting to take a trip without a destination, a road map, or any idea of how to get there! Oh, and you have to be brave enough to try, to make the leap.

    Wally

  4. Not to be a lazy ass, but I echo Wally’s sentiments 110+ %. He’s older and wiser than me.
    eden

  5. K.B. – I like the idea of Emailing each other. I share my goals with my critique partner. I think telling others makes me accountable.

    Raymond, I love your idea of making a collage. I often do that before I start a new book but I never thought about doing it for goals… where is that photo of the amazing house in Costa Rica?

    Wally, I’m printing that out and putting it into my journal on the first page. Well said!

    Thanks everyone!

  6. Okay then! Out with the resolutions, in with the goals. Except my resolution to ignore fear is pretty important. It’s been helping me sleep better at night. I suppose there’s room for both goals and resolutions. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

  7. Great post, Deb. And timely. I need to keep this in mind as I get ready send out queries for the new novel. Thanks for the gentle nudge.

  8. Very good article! We will be linking to this great content on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  9. I was extremely pleased to find this site. I wanted to thank you for ones time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit of it and I have you saved to fav to check out new things on your website.

Leave a Reply

