Themes

The other day, I was talking with my best friend about the newest book I’m writing. I was trying to explain the plot to her when I realized that it was the same theme as the Thor movie – a non-conformist is driven from her home in order to learn how to live within society’s rules. It was sort of an odd revelation because I’d been working under the delusion that the theme was more in line with SyFy’s (Am I the only one who still cringes at that horrible spelling?) Lost Girl – a girl who doesn’t fit into the society she’s grown up in is suddenly thrust into a completely new world and must find her way while being true to herself.

As I write it out here, I see that the two themes are not all that dissimilar and I know why I mis-identified the main theme in the first place. I finally watched Thor several weeks ago since hubby bought me the DVD for Christmas and we started watching Lost Girl not too long after that. It was actually during the second episode of Lost Girl that I got the idea for this newest book. It was sort of an “I can do it better” type of thing because I am honestly very underwhelmed by the series so far.

As I think about it more, I will definitely have both themes intertwining with and playing off of each other. Having to live within society’s rules and trying to fit into a strange new world all while staying true to oneself. I feel bad for my main character already.

It’s odd – I’ve never written with a theme in mind before. I don’t even know if Lost Souls has a theme. Will this make the writing easier? Harder? A little of both? I guess we shall see.

Ana Ramsey

6 responses to “Themes

  1. I think anything that holds a plot together and keeps it on track will help, but probably in a different way from, say, knowing how the story must end. For me, writing keeps changing. The reasons and the tools I have today are quite different from those concepts that presented themselves when I was starting out. I think that’s a good thing.

    And, yes, I cringe at SyFy, too. It’s a little too cute, like an adolescent struggling to find a new and original way to spell his/her name. I’ll stick with SciFi.

  2. I’ve never written a book around a theme, although I do see a couple themes that tend to run throughout my stories. 🙂

    Good luck! Let us know how it goes.

    Lisa

  3. One of the first things I teach in the Screenwriting 101 workshop is:
    Theme & Premise, the moral foundation the story is based on and the basic idea upon which a script is based, are the foundation everything else is built on. I feel I need that strong foundation. It keeps me from rambling off track and it helps me develop the characters and understand them.

    Wally

  4. Mmmm Thor… 😛

    Good luck! I think I unconsciously hit on themes all the time.

  5. Actually, every story has a theme & premise, you may not be aware of it before you start writing but it will be there in the end. 😉

  6. One of my favorite writing things I ever heard was Margaret Atwood saying that she sometimes didn’t know the theme of a particular book until some reviewer or reader pointed it out to her. We all have them, but we often don’t know what they are. And Ms. Atwood’s comment made me feel better about NOT EVER KNOWING!

    Kate

Leave a Reply

