iLife

I don’t own an iPhone. At first because it would have required me to switch carriers and I’ve been a loyal Verizon customer for going on 12 years. Now, even though Verizon has the iPhone, I’m kinds stuck on my Android. I do, however, own an iPod (my second) named LEGION, a Shuffle named Sisyphus, and will probably buy my brother’s used iPad off him when he upgrades.

I was sitting in my office last Saturday morning, drinking coffee, reading a magazine, and reflecting on the rather abrupt changes that are probably going to take place in my life over the next few months when I came across an article. It’s in the March 2012 edition of WholeLiving and while the magazine can be found online, this particular article requires you pick up the magazine at the store.

However, I’ll share a snippet from it. The one that made me want to write this entry. In it, Andrew Leonard is talking about his iPhone and how much he loves it. Some might scoff, but I think it’s beautiful.

Maybe those of us who were science fiction fans were better prepared than everyone else for the classic Internet-induced epiphany,” he writes. “The realization, not long after we logged on for the first time, that the natural purpose and evolution of this network of networks was to link us to the full sum of human knowledge, to connect us to everything. In that sense, the smartphone is the physical embodiment of all that civilization has accomplished. Its manifestation can be as silly as a game of Fruit Ninja or as profound as an iBooks download of the Bhagavad Gita.”

I love this.

This is the Internet Age, the Digital Revolution. I’ve seen the Internet work as a concerted whole to call out liars, stop legislation, raise money for cancer patients and disaster victims. We are many, we are one, and we’re finally starting to realize that when we put our heads together and raise our voices we can effect change on a global scale.

I live in a world where I can video chat with my nieces and nephews who live four hours away from me or a friend who lives across the country who I’ve never met in person. The phone I carry in my pocket has probably 100 times more processing power than my first computer.

My parents had a cell phone back in the 90s. *laughs* One of those you had to plug into the car charger to get it to work. It came in a carrying case the size of a lunchbox. I got my first cell phone back in 2001, shortly after I met my husband on the Internet. Back then we were just friends, but it became apparent to me that owning a cell phone was financially a good decision unless I wanted to pay a lot for long distance!

A few years ago I snagged a Nook as soon as I could. I love it. I read from it. I think it’s like that awesome planet on Dr. Who in the episode “Silence in the Library” where every book that’s ever been written is stored. Endless possibility.

I don’t see the war between digital and print that so many people seem to fear or champion. My Nook sits beside my paper books – no better, no worse. Just different.

I have lived more than half my life online and almost my entire with the wonderful technology of computers. My nieces and nephews are already – at the ages of 4 & 6 – more technologically competent than pretty much everyone in the family. They will never deal with rewinding cassette or VCR tapes, or waiting for film to be developed.

Some people argue this makes the next generations impatient, ungrateful, but I disagree. I think it will make them realize, even more than I do, just how connected we all are.

K.B. Wagers

9 responses to “iLife

  1. I don’t have a Nook or Kindle for that matter, not for lack of wanting one mind you lol. I just use my laptop for all my ebooks. Sometimes I prefer paper to digital, but space is an issue so ebooks are my friends lol.

  2. I did a study on the different generations at one time, and did find there’s a sense of impatience in this current one (Gen Y) – the later ones born in the nineties. Though they know of connection via the digital age, they are also children of boomers who’ve given them everything. As a result, they expect everything and want it more quickly.

    What I found most troubling was the sense of entitlement for all things digital because everyone has it – phones, ipads, etc. Better economic times make it easier, but despite that, it’s not always possible for some families.

    eden

  3. “and while the magazine can be found online, this particular article requires you pick up the magazine at the store.” Imagine that. A magazine has found a way to get you to buy a physical copy. Still, this backlash—very mild though it may be—will eventually relent to the ease of the Internet. I cannot begin to tell you how many times, when a question arises during a conversation, I say, “Just a minute,” then Google the answer. Nearly everything one wishes to know is at one’s fingertips. And social networks? Most of your long lost friends are there, too. How few letters I used to write and how often I post on Facebook!

    • Funny, I don’t see it as a backlash. I don’t think digital will ever completely replace physical copies of things. I think we as a human race will always have a need to touch and hold books, magazines, etc.

  4. Ahahaha!!! Okay, this is pretty amusing — my still-in-the-works blog post for this week is about my (sometimes) hatred for technology. It’s like we planned this or something. 😀

  5. Hate it or not, technology is here, the web is here, make that, “It’s everywhere!” and it isn’t going away. We (writers) all use it, Hell’s Bells, almost everyone here in Canada & the States use it. The new phones have a great deal of the World using it, and more and more are using I Pods and E-Readers everyday. It’s not a matter of getting on board, it’s a matter of getting left behind. Don’t fight it, learn how to use it! I know I am. And if this “Old Dog” can learn a new trick, anyone can.
    Good Post, Kiddo!
    Wally

  6. I love my iPhone, my iPod and my Kindle Fire. *clings* I also love the Net, though I’m admittedly not a big fan of some of the popular social networking venues. I fear the time suck, frankly. It’s hard enough managing my life as is! 🙂

    Great post!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

