What Perfume are you wearing?” “Event Horizon”

I can’t wear regular perfume. It doesn’t matter how good the stuff smells in the bottle, or in the air, or on a friend … when I put it on it immediately smells like old lady.

And not – sadly – like comforting grandma smell. But crazy, found dead under a pile of cats old lady.

Then, one glorious day, I found Black Phoenix Alchemy Labs where some of the best and the most unique hand-blended oil perfumes are made.

It would take me all day and then some to list out the different scents, stories, and magic that the lab puts out. Suffice it to say your best bet is to go take a peak yourself. *grins* Just don’t blame me if you come back lighter in the purse for it.

A sampling of the scents in my personal collection are: (descriptions from the Lab)

Port Royal – The Sodom of the New World! — touted as the richest and wickedest city in all creation! Port Royal was the center of 17th century Caribbean commerce, a notorious safe harbor for pirates, and the site of our third flagship store, which was, sadly, destroyed in the earthquake of 1692. Spiced rum and ship’s wood mixed with the body-warmed trace of a prostitute’s perfume and a hint of salty sea air on the dry-down.

El Dia De Los Reyas – The Day of Kings, the Celebration of the Magi. In Mexico, on January 6th, children place their shoes by their windows. If they have been good during the previous year, the Wise Men tuck gifts into their shoes during the night. Hot cocoa with cinnamon, coffee, and brown sugar.

Tintagel – According to legend, the birthplace of King Arthur. The scent of a castle’s great hall in the midst of joyous feasting. Spicy mulled wine flowing through the musky heat, warm leather and bright clash of armor, the damp branches of Cornish hawthorn, blackthorn, juniper, English elm and bayberry, and the magical tingle of dragon’s blood resin.

I have more. *grins* So many more. A whole collection of perfumes named after Poe. Scents from Alice in Wonderland. The Seven Deadly Sins.

Besides the fact that I can wear these perfumes and smell not-dead (well, unless I’m wearing The Premature Burial from the Poe collection 😛 ), I love the inspiration behind these scents. The endless ways that the masterminds at BPAL have mixed and blended some of the most unlikely of smells. The way they’ve partnered with the likes of Neil Gaiman and Mike Mignola to create scents out of their characters.

I love the inspiration that they give me. Several of the characters have their own signature scents from BPAL, to the point where if I’m not prepared to work on their story I’d better not put on the perfume.

I know there are a ton of BPALers out there, so speak up and share your favorites! For those new to the insanity, check it out and feel free to weigh in with your thoughts on this creative melding of art and smell.

K.B.

19 responses to “What Perfume are you wearing?” “Event Horizon”

  1. thiskindnepenthe

    I’m not a fan of your typical commercial perfumes, either. And I’ve heard of BPAL. I just can’t afford to indulge myself right now. But they’re all SO tempting. I know that if I ever get started, I’ll wind up with an enormous collection.

    • thiskindnepenthe

      Completely off-topic here, but why is it making me log in to WP to comment? I swear I’ve used this email address here before.

      • No clue, it’s been a little wacky lately!

        Yeah, that’s a major downside to BPAL. The cost can be prohibitive. Though I started with imps (which are cheaper) until I found a few scents I really liked and then scattered those through birthdays, etc. The only time I really get in a bind are with the limited edition scents. 😀

  2. Long time poor in the pocket BPAL-er here. My skin is weird, and my body chemistry has a mind of its own, so whether I wear a scent, or can, depends solely on randomness. That said, BPAL is my crack, along with a few – VERY FEW – commercial scents (Marc Jacob’s Lola and Daisy, and CK’s Romance). BPAL came up with the first and only scent with patchouli that I can wear without wanting to puke (Lust, if you must know, it’s worth a try). One of the first Lunacy blends, Storm Moon, is still and always will be my favorite scent (I have two bottles), though Dead Man’s Hand will forever be my one that got away; it was a rare leather scent, I sold my bottle in a moment of insanity, and have never been able to get my hands on any more. Other blends I’ve loved: Anything from Ars Draconis, Fallen, Wicked, Tintagel, Florence, New Orleans, Venice, Glasgow, Morocco, Port Au Prince, and Prague. My first BPAL ever? Hell’s Belle.

    Obviously, I could go on for days. Also, for those inclined towards the occult, there is TAL (Twilight Alchemy Lab) where the BPAL people do custom blends with a purpose. My favorite has always been Charisma, Hymn to Pan is a great energy blend, and Concentration and Clarity are fantastic for studying.

    • Snake oil is one of my go-to scents as well as Sacred Whore of Babylon. 😀 That was one of my first bottles I think.

      I really wish I’d gotten bottles of the Monster Bait series. I’ve got decanted imps but they’re almost gone. At the top of my list of wants right now is almost the entire Alice in Wonderland collection. 😀

  3. My go-to is Bow and Crown of Conquest. I love it more than anything else of theirs I’ve tried.

  4. Every time I see a friend post about their BPAL addiction I contemplate trying them out. Then, after browsing the site, drooling over the different collections, and trying unsuccessfully to narrow my choices down to just a couple, I remember that I don’t wear perfume nearly enough to justify the cost. 😀

  5. I love the way BPAL smells (and the names, oh the whimsy!) but my skin says no. It says no to the vast majority of soaps, lotions and sunscreens, too, so no big surprise. Still, boohoo. 😦

  6. Pingback: What Perfume are you wearing?” “Event Horizon” | Black Ink, White … « AlliancePixels's Blog

  7. I’m not a fan of perfume, but on occasion, I wear Kiehl or something Lovely.

    I’m boring.
    eden

  8. I’ve been wearing the same perfume (Chanel No. 5 eau de toilette) for decades, but recently, thanks to my man, who is Persian, I’ve been experimenting and now have 7 or 8 different bottles. The most recent I bought because I loved the name – Provocative Woman – and wear it when I need to be. Provocative, that is.

    Kate

  9. I can’t speak for Raymond, but since wearing a beard for ages, I don’t even use after-shave cologne. However I do appreciate a good perfume emanating from my wife, or other of the ladies about me. I’ll have to alert Belva and my three daughters and one grand daughter about BPAL.

    Wally

  10. Pingback: Favorite Lipstick Color/Perfume « gordopdx

Leave a Reply

