Raising Funds and Raising Hope

Fundraising is a serious business.

Over the past couple of months, I’ve been actively promoting an Indiegogo crowd fundraiser to support a young man diagnosed with leukemia. Joshua Moore is the 21-year-old son of independent author friend, Maxwell Cynn.

The goal is to raise $10,000 by May 30, 2012. As at this writing, we are slightly over the halfway mark.

You can get the details at: http://www.indiegogo.com/indiesuniteforjoshua OR where ever you see this widget.

A lot of people have worked tirelessly to spread the word. Many have donated—some have donated multiple times. The response of independent authors, filmmakers, and people who want to help a worthy cause has been phenomenal.

Why am I telling you this?

Because fundraising is a serious business, and serious businesses require key ingredients.

We have two important ones:

(1) A worthy cause
(2) A network of supporters growing by the day

As we move toward the second half of the campaign, I’d like to highlight what I consider to be the cornerstone of every successful business—Perseverance. I won’t lie. The next couple of months will be tough.

Many have told me they wished they could do more. My response has been simple: “Keep doing what your doing. It adds up, and it’s all helping.”

Crowd fundraising is about using the strength of a “crowd” to meet a goal. Though we are thrilled to receive large donations, the campaign is set up to allow for small donations from a large number of sponsors. We accept ANY dollar amount, and it ALL helps.

We also understand not everyone can donate money, however, if you donate your time, your goodwill, and spread the word, then you’ve possibly connected the fundraiser to someone who is able to donate money. You play an important role in helping to meet our goal.

Please persevere.

Many of the Indiegogo campaigns go into their final weeks less than 50% funded, and yet, they end up meeting and surpassing their goal with mere hours left on the clock because they refused to give up.

I’ve been part of some of these campaigns, and the excitement in those final minutes is an adrenalin rush like I’ve never felt. Coming together with like-minded people from around the world to support a cause is pure poetry.

I leave you with a quote from someone, whom I admire, as much for his tenacity as his brilliance.

It’s not that I’m so smart; it’s just that I stay with problems longer.
—Albert Einstein

Please donate what you can at:

http://www.indiegogo.com/indiesuniteforjoshua

eden

9 responses to “Raising Funds and Raising Hope

  1. Pingback: Raising Funds and Raising Hope |

  2. I raised money for a similar purpose several years ago and I will attest that even $5 donations add up. $100 and $200 donors were certainly welcome, yet while most of our donations were $20 or less, we raised $23K.

    Please donate SOMETHING! And tell your friends. Our household is feeling the pinch of a difficult economy, but as soon as I finish this reply, I will make mine.

  3. You’re lovely, Raymond, and thank you. xox
    eden

  4. Eden, you have been doing such an amazing job with this cause to get the word out and help someone in need. Thank you for everything that you have done.

    • Hi Savannah, the author community is extremely supportive, and all those on social media have helped spread the word. I really appreciate all you’ve done on your end to share this fundraiser. Thanks so much,
      eden
      xox

  5. Belva ask me why I didn’t offer a 1 on 1 mentoring session, So, I will do so as soon as I return home to day. Do I send that to you, eden?

    Wally

  6. Eden. This is a truth. You are one of my heros. This cause for Joshua is something that will touch anyone who hears about it. I know you don’t care for the limelight and you haven’t been working alone. But pretty lady, you are special!

    Josh and many others are lucky to know you, dear Eden.

    • Dannie, always great to hear your thoughts, and I appreciate the kind words from you more than you know. Thanks for your wonderful support throughout this fundraiser.
      xoxo
      eden

Leave a Reply

