Cooking and Reading

I’ve been doing a lot of both of these the last few weeks. Both relax me and give me time to regroup and think.

After finishing a book that had been contracted on proposal, I needed a little time to unwind before I started the next one, also under proposal contract, so what do I do? I spend a couple of days neck deep dealing with the Canadian government’s website and elbow-deep in paperwork. Hahaha, right? Well, when you’re not a citizen of the country you live in, these things come up and you have to take care of them. This time it’s the once-every-five-year immigration card renewal process. They want to know every time I’ve been out of the country in the last five years. I will not even get into that…

Anyway, that relaxation technique did not work one little bit, so I took another week off of writing, because though I’m not a plotter by any means, I’m not a total pantser either. I have to at least have an idea who my characters are and where they’re going (besides to a happily ever after) before I can start writing. I need to have solid in my brain the beginning, middle and end before I can start. My best way to think is lying in bed, staring at nothing, and letting my mind float. Well, when you have a husband who works stupid hours and snores rather loudly while in bed, that doesn’t really happen, except the mind floating to wondering just how long it takes to smother someone with a pillow…and I don’t writer murder mysteries.

So, the next best thing, what I used to do, is cook. In the last two weeks I’ve made big batches of soup, stews, chilis, mostly because they’re very easy, I love soup, and they take zero thinking. The other thing I’ve been doing lately, which is a very big treat for me, is actually reading! Because of my day job as an editor, I don’t have much time for reading for pleasure, but since things have been slow at work, I started reading again.

I have to boast about these books. It’s been so long since I found a series to totally and completely fall in love with, but I have. The Virgin River series by Robyn Carr. I highly recommend to anyone who loves good down-home type romance with just a little adventure. Robyn Carr is now on my favorites list of authors. I’m on book 16 (of 20) and I’m sure I’m going to cry when I finish! Her characters are real, the setting gorgeous, the romance heart-wrenching.

So finally, my brain is kicking in and I’m staring the next book I need to write, which is a very good thing because the due date is looming. The family is pretty happy with all the home-cooked meals too, I must say. Haven’t had a hotdog in weeks! *grin*

Here’s a little recipe I did the other night that had them begging for more. Enjoy!

Anna Leigh Keaton

Herbed potato wedges

4 medium russet potatoes, scrubbed and rinsed
3 tablespoons olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced and mashed against the cutting board with the flat of a knife
1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed fine
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Cut each potato in half lengthwise. Cut each half, lengthwise, into 4 equally sized wedges. Add the potato wedges to a large mixing bowl with the rest of the ingredients. Toss meticulously to coat the potatoes evenly.

Line a sheet pan with foil. Place the potato wedges, skin side down, on the foil. Be sure to space evenly, so they cook uniformly. Bake for 35 minutes, or until well browned, crusty edged, and tender. Serve immediately.

3 responses to “Cooking and Reading

  1. Sorry I am late getting to your post. I looked yesterday morning and didn’t see it but then today when I came to the site, there it was! Go figure. I think you should write a cook book. Maybe an erotic, romantic, sensual cook book. ;)

    Wally

  2. I’m with Wally. Sexy foodie book!

    The potatoes sound fantastic. Making them this weekend. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Hey Anna Leigh, I`m almost embarrassed to reveal this, but I`m allergic to garlic!! Think I can make these potatoes without it? They sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

