Pin me to Pinterest—For Now

I opened an account with Pinterest—a site that advertises itself as an online pinboard that helps organize and share things I love.

Do I like it? To tell you the truth, I’m not sure. As with most social networks, there’s a balance between whether it’s helpful or just a time waster. In the back of my mind, I think it might increase exposure for my writing and books, but I don’t know just yet, as I’ve been on it for less than a month.

As music inspires me to write, beautiful pictures also inspire me, and that was the initial draw to Pinterest. It’s akin to flipping through a stack of magazines I enjoy – only I don’t have to pay a subscription.

So far, I have twelve boards, ranging from my favorite poisons to New York scenes to art I love. You need to request an invitation to join, which I thought was a strange formality, though it didn’t take long to get signed up after being accepted.

As I don’t really enjoy writing about myself, I find “telling” my story through pictures easier. Perhaps you might too.

Here’s my link if  you’re interested to see my boards.

http://www.pinterest.com/edenbaylee/

So…are you on Pinterest and do you find it helpful?

eden

28 responses to “Pin me to Pinterest—For Now

  1. I joined last week. I have gained inspiration from several images. I find it quite soothing when the editing gets tough. I grab a coffee and browse for half hour. So far it has helped me get back into the swing of jotting notes for next novel. I found you over there. 😀

    • Hi Glynis, I’ll connect to you there too. I do like the images and how it can wake up my brain in a different way than just by reading. Time will tell how helpful it is.
      eden

  2. Pingback: Pin me to Pinterest—For Now |

  3. I’ve wondered what Pinterest was all about. After reading this post I decided, “What the heck! I’ll give it a try.”

  4. Casey Sheridan

    I joined about two weeks ago (or was it three weeks ago?). I’m not sure I like it. But then, I wasn’t sure I’d like Twitter when I first signed up, and I’m STILL not sure I like that! LOL!

    I have a hard enough time trying to keep up with Facebook and Twitter. I’m afraid with another social network I might end up spreading myself too thin.

  5. Welcome to Pinterest. You will love it. I’ve been on for a while and just adore the place. So much to get inspired from.

  6. I am on Pinterest too. I don’t know that I find it all that helpful, but I do love it for wasting time. Mostly for me, It is just a different and more creative way to avoid doing whatever I’m supposed to be doing. Fun, but pretty much meaningless.

    • Hahaha, Lisa, you’re hilarious! Yes, I can see it being a complete time-waster, but perhaps in one of those moments, there might be some inspiration drawn as well — sure hope so anyway. Thanks for visiting me here.
      xox
      eden

  7. I’m on Pinterest and have been for quite a while now. I don’t use it for story inspiration though because my brain doesn’t work that way, I use it mostly for recipes and home ideas and beauty tips.

  8. Hi eden, I was recently invited to join Pinterest. Still estimating its value for me, but I did ‘pin’ our anthology “Stories from a Holiday Heart” there. I’m now a member of your network there, too. Wishing you great success with “spring into summer” and in every one of your ventures!
    xox
    Jeff

  9. I’ve been there for a while–mostly forget about it and don’t use it (which is probably just as well, considering its time wasting potential), but I do find it useful as a way to have a pictorial storyboard for my novels. I went and followed you 🙂

  10. I’m on and I LOVE it! 😀 Use it for storyboards, house ideas, all sorts of great food (I’ve made so many recipes found there that are just awesome), hairstyles, and silly things.

    It’s a lot of fun, but yeah, like all great things on the ‘Net you’ve got to use it judiciously or it’ll suck your time away faster than a Dementor. ;D

  11. raymondbolton

    You like Dalwhinnie, Laphroaig 10 and the Balvenie? You is a girl after my heart! Truly, truly truly!

  12. I’m on there… thus far I’ve just pinned movies I like, some books. It’s got the potential to be a bit of a time drain.

    • Absolutely William, it can be a time drain. You will find out over time if you like it. I’ve set up my boards and will just add book stuff to it for now.
      xox
      eden

  13. I might give it a try. The hard part for me is I like to write and anything that gets in my way is something I must think long and hard about. It’s hard enough for me to keep up with emails and the bl0gs I love to read. I’ll be sure and check you out, sweet one. MAybe it’s just that I’m not that visual. I like pictures in words.

Leave a Reply

