The Best Time…

to plot a book is while you’re washing the dishes. At least that’s what Agatha Christie said…

to plot a book is before you write a single word, or after you’ve written the first draft, or when you get stuck somewhere in the sagging middle, or never plot it at all…

to write is first thing in the morning before you’re really awake. Many people say this – that your sleeping mind is the most creative of all and if you write first thing, your writing will be more intense…

to write is after a glass or two of scotch, your mind is more creative, less reserved, and definitely more intense…

to write is when you have five hours free, or in those fifteen minutes between work and complete exhaustion, or that half-hour lunch break at the office, or the hour and a half before you fall asleep, while your family is watching your favorite TV show;

to sell a first book is when you’re young and hot and fresh or when you’re old and jaded and famous…

to win an award is when you’re young and can build on it or when you’re old and can appreciate it…

to write a memoir is when you’ve lived a life that readers will find interesting, you know the difference between life and fiction, and you’re a good enough writer to sell it…

to write a story about something that happened to you is when you truly, deeply, and completely understand the difference between life and story;

to admit to your family you’re a writer is after you’ve sold your first story.

Kate

 

 

6 responses to “The Best Time…

  1. “to admit to your family you’re a writer is after you’ve sold your first story.” Well, I admit to being a writer all the time and I’ve yet to sell one of my books. But then again, I think that keeps the pressure on to improve my craft and keep trying.

  2. The best time to write is whenever you can, as fast as you can, for as long as you can. 🙂

    Lisa

  3. The best time to write is whenever an idea hits, that’s why I carry pen and paper with me whenever I’m away from my computer,
    eden

  4. Raymond – see? This is why there is no one right answer. None of these are my answers (okay, some of them are) but they’re all answers I’ve heard from others.

    Kate

  5. Lisa, that’s me, too – though there are some days when it’s a slog, that’s just part of the process.

    Kate

  6. eden, sometimes I go for a walk on the beach and forget a pen or paper and then I have to buy a coffee, use the receipt, and borrow a pen. Or I spend the whole way home memorizing the paragraph and I’m sure the people who pass me as I chant the words think I’m a crazy person.

    And I am.

    I’m a writer.

    Kate

Leave a Reply

