What do you know About.me?

I first used social media in September 2008, starting with Facebook (at least that’s what Facebook tells me). I honestly can’t remember when I signed up.

It’s been four years since then, and I can proudly (or shamefully) say I’m attached to more virtual sites than I can keep track of.

It seems like every week there is a new site that offers something just a little different. Being a geek by nature, I tend to check it all out, but I hadn’t signed up for anything new in sometime. Twitter and Facebook are still where I hang out the most. Blogging is how I connect to readers. Given that, when I came across a site called About.me, I didn’t think much of it at first, but I signed up. Here’s why.

About.me is a free service that allows you to create a one-page website listing facts about you and your interests. You can upload a picture, background, and get this – you can add ALL your social media networks to it. Your bio can be whimsical, serious, short or long. Customize it to suit you. Bring out your personality.

It was simple to set up and there was really no maintenance. Simplicity was key for me, as was the short time spent to build the page. Since adding mine, I now use the URL as part of my email signature, and as part of my Facebook and Twitter bios. You can find out about me here if you like.

I view my page as my virtual business card, and it was kind of fun to set up. The other cool thing is there are so many different types of people on it—filmmakers, authors, artists, etc. It’s a great way to increase your network if you want to.

If you’re interested in setting up your page, just go here > https://about.me/

Hope to see you there. Come and say ‘hi’ if you join.

eden

10 responses to “What do you know About.me?

  1. Pingback: What Do You Know About.me? |

  2. Thanks for the heads-up. Sounds remarkably useful!

  3. A really simple and I like the way you can customize it. I took advantage of the free business cards (all you do is pay shipping) and not only did they arrive quickly, they are FABULOUS quality. The picture of your choice is on the front, then on the back your name, your specialty, your aboutme URL, and your email address plus that little weird square for smart phones? (I have a dumb phone so I’m not familiar with it.) No branding, card stock was excellent quality and I will definitely be ordering from them again.

    Great find, Eden. 🙂

    xoxoxo

  4. Hmm . . . I did learn something new about you, eden. Wonderful, and thank you for the tip on About.me. Will come in handy as another branch on the Justin Bog tree (a weeping willow if you need to know what kind of tree).

  5. William Kendall

    Looks like something I’ll have to look into, Eden!

  6. Damn you, woman! Did you HAVE to tell me about another blasted social media site?? Did you REALLY? Because you know I’m going to check it out. Bad Eden! XOXO

Leave a Reply

