Feeling Like A Celebrity

One of the things I really like about attending conferences is that you never really know who you will strike up a conversation with while you’re sitting in the bar, riding the elevator or attending a workshop.

My friend Sheryl and I attended the Romantic Times Booklovers Convention last April in Chicago. We’ve been to this conference several times before, and it’s one of my favorites. There are more book readers than authors, so it’s a nice place to talk to fans. There has been a bigger focus on writing workshops these past few years.

Sheryl and I were particularly interested in the “Indie Publishing “ programs, with some of the biggest names in the Indie publishing world,  speakers like Mark Coker, J.A. Konrath and Bob Mayer.  My critique partner, Sheryl, has an inquiring mind and she is often the first person in the room to raise her hand to ask questions.

After the second program we attended, a very nice young man approached her and said, “Hello, I’m Andrew, and I’m writing an article for the NY Times. You asked really good questions, and I’d like to talk to you about self-publishing.”

Andrew interviewed her, and since she talked about me and my recent self-publishing experience that inspired her, I was interviewed too.  It was great fun, but we both knew that reporters write articles that never get published, so we didn’t count any chickens.

That was a good thing, because Andrew reported to us in the summer that that the article was not going to be published. He hadn’t given up, but Sheryl and I went on with our lives, writing, editing and publishing.

Then a few weeks ago, Andrew reported that he had a friend at a magazine interested in the article, and he’d get back to us. We found out that the article was acquired by Time magazine. TIME magazine. Then we were told that they would be sending a photographer to do a photo shoot.

It worked out that Sheryl was volunteering at the Northwest Bookfest on the weekend we did the photo shoot. Chris showed up with Mike, (a helper to carry all the equipment). Chris had major camera equipment, reflectors; extra cameras, tripods,  it was just like those photo shoots you see on TV.  People kept watching, probably wondering if we were famous.

My favorite moment was when Sheryl and I had our photos taken outside the Teen Center. A gaggle of young ladies were standing and watching the process. I smiled at them and said, “You thought only tall, skinny girls were supermodels, huh?”

I have no idea when, or even if the article about us will be in the magazine. It still strikes me funny that they would include an article about Indie publishing in a news magazine. But should it happen, I’ll be thrilled to be featured in the same publication as Fareed Zakaria!

Deborah

5 responses to “Feeling Like A Celebrity

  1. Hah! Who likes tall, skinny girls? Curves are where it’s at. What a hoot! Keep us posted. 😀

  2. This is why I love you Raymond!

  3. Melanie Bonhage

    You’re almost famous!

  4. That’s wonderful, keep us posted!

  5. OMG, this is only the beginning. After the article, you will need staff. (All famous people have staff) Soon Automotive Magazine will be doing features on Marilyn Merlot. Swanee Literary Magazine will feature Sibelle Stone. Then the New York Times will call and you will have to tell them to wait for availability to do their magazine cover profile. Then the suggestively nude Vanity Fair Cover proclaiming “Eat Your Hearts Out, Skinny Minnies” I am so glad I knew you when

Leave a Reply

