Crazy Jewelry

Okay men, this post will probably be of little interest to you. Just sayin’ before you read it and wonder why you wasted your time.

Now, for the ladies.

I’m not a jewelry whore. As with the color of the clothes I wear (black), I’m a minimalist, so you’ll never see me wearing a matching set of earrings, necklace, and bracelet. I actually really dislike that look on a woman—makes me think she’s adorned herself like a Christmas tree. Just my opinion.

Don’t worry. Not even my friends agree with me. They think I’m boring, monochromatic, and should take more risks with my wardrobe.

So, I decided to buy this crazy necklace, only I didn’t know it was crazy when I bought it. It fit my subtle taste. With numerous grey strands made of microscopic glass beads, I imagined it would go perfectly with all my black dresses.

A NYC architect who became an industrial and jewelry designer made it. Unique pieces intrigue me, so it was all the more reason I liked it. I wore it to my first book club meeting with the fabulous women of S.W.E.E.T. They all commented on the unusual piece, how it had a crepe-like feel to it, how it reflected the light so oddly.

I suppose I’d forgotten the necklace was made of glass because it certainly didn’t feel like it. That was, until we took a picture with me wearing it. See for yourself.

Kind of creepy, isn’t it? Happy Halloween, all.

eden

18 responses to “Crazy Jewelry

  1. Awesome, Eden! 😀

    I’m not a matcher either. I tend to wear the same thing every day and only switch stuff out rarely (except for earrings, those lately I’ve really had a lot of fun with) when I’m in the mood.

  2. Pingback: Crazy Jewelry |

  3. I think the necklace sounds funky…You gotta post a close up pic..Would love to see it…

  4. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha – adorable.

  5. I think that’s a great pic of you and, yes, your necklace is very shiny. Sort of looks like your halo decided to adorn you in a unique way. Since your halo is usually held up by horns, I’m assuming your horns were at the shop and so said halo slipped. 😉

    I’d love to see the necklace too, since I work and make jewelry. Unique pieces are always intriguing to me.

  6. Ahhhh! I always knew you were otherworldly, E.

    j. //

  7. RL.Treadway's Ink

    I’m glad I read the post before seeing the picture – made it funny. I’m a minimalist as well. Tons of jewelry I haven’t worn in about 4 years. :/ I don’t think my ears are pierced anymore. lol

  8. I’m a guy and you’re right, Eden. Totally boring. I mean I do look at jewelry and enjoy it from a male perspective, but it’s the picture of all the hot ladies that was really boring, (-; You may wear black on the outside but I’ve seen you in a hot pink bra and panties– whoo hoo. That was in an interview. BTW, you make that necklace look good!

  9. That thing could light up a runway…

  10. WowWeeKaZaowWee! It’s spectacular, Eden! Please tell me (via Twitter) who he is and where I can find his work, because someday when I’m solvent again, I want one of these. I’m a lover of sparkly things. No big surprise there, after all, I am part Fey. BTW, I’m also coveting your boots! Super sexy, just like you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

