26 Random Things I Love About Writing

  • My characters.
  • Endless career possibilities.
  • Excuse to stare off into space under the guise of “plot construction.”
  • Whiteboards.
  • Coffee.
  • Dialogue that would never happen in real life.
  • Exercising sadistic tendencies without all the mess.
  • That moment when everything falls into place in a novel.
  • Heartbreak.
  • Unexpected events that make you laugh out loud.
  • Windows into fantastical worlds.
  • Anything that involves the rule “when in doubt, blow something up” has to be awesome, right?
  • The sound of fingers on keys.
  • Editing, as frustrating as it can be there’s nothing quite as satisfying as making a story better.

K.B.

4 responses to “26 Random Things I Love About Writing

  1. OK, Katy, that’s 14. You owe us 12. 🙂

  2. Yeah, that’s not me 😀 Kate messed up my title.

    Here’s another 12 for you though, because I’m nice….

    1. Frogs
    2. Battle scenes
    3. No laundry duty
    4. Feeling guilty for not working when I’m at work
    5. Feeling guilty for not working when I’m not at work
    6. Ink pens
    7. Pluto
    8. Mythbusters
    9. Horribly dubbed Chinese films
    10. Coffee (yes, I listed it twice, what?)
    11. Winter
    12. Oversized hoodies.

    I did say this was a random list. *grins*

  3. It’s the no laundry duty part I love.

    And, yes, you’re nice. 😉

  4. I’d apply for that job! How about also as being able to call “work”:
    – watering your plants, going to the Art Gallery, and going to cabins in gorgeous locations to spend days in splendid peace and quiet.

Leave a Reply

